ISI’s 2020 Conservative Book of the Year Award Dinner

March 28, 2020
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, MO

The 2020 Conservative Book of the Year:
Wilfred M. McClay’s Land of Hope

UPDATE (March 12, 2020): Unfortunately, ISI has had to cancel this event. Given the uncertainty surrounding the extent of the coronavirus’s spread across the country and the increasing number of schools and organizations that are restricting travel, we felt that canceling the dinner was the prudent step. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience and understanding.    

The winner of the 2020 Conservative Book of the Year award is Wilfred M. McClay, author of the acclaimed history Land of Hope

McClay has filled a gaping void with his inspiring and compulsively readable account of our country’s history.

Think of Land of Hope as the anti–Howard Zinn. But that doesn’t mean McClay offers his own propaganda to counter Zinn’s. The Wall Street Journal’s Daniel Henninger put it well when he called Land of Hope “the most balanced, nuanced history of the United States I have read in the past fifty years.” 

For more information on ISI’s Conservative Book of the Year award, please visit

If you have questions, please contact Allyssa Schulz-Fricker at